Hershman will take over as Senate majority floor leader

Staff report
The Statehouse File

Sen. Majority Floor Leader Brandt Hershman, R-Buck Creek

INDIANAPOLIS – Senate President Pro Tem David Long, R-Fort Wayne, announced Monday that he has appointed Sen. Brandt Hershman, R-Buck Creek, to serve as the new majority floor leader, a key position in the caucus and the highest post appointed by the Long.

Hershman, who will continue to serve as chairman of the Senate Tax and Fiscal Policy Committee, replaces Connie Lawson, who left the Senate in March to become the Indiana Secretary of State. He will serve as a senior adviser to Long and in a variety of roles including administrative management, oversight of the Senate floor and development of legislative priorities.

“Brandt has repeatedly proven to be a strong leader, both as the chair of the Tax and Fiscal Policy Committee as well as in the position of majority whip,” Long said in a written statement. “He brings valuable experience and perspective to the role of majority floor leader and I am confident that he will do an excellent job for us.”

Sen. Ryan Mishler, R-Bremen, will replace Hershman as majority whip, which will require him to rally votes for caucus positions.

Senate Local Government Chairman Randy Head, R-Logansport

Sen. Randy Head, R-Logansport, will replace Lawson as chairman of the Senate Committee on Local Government.

“Connie Lawson did an outstanding job as chair of the Senate Local Government Committee, so the bar is set very high,” Long said. “However, I believe Randy Head is up to the task, with his strong background in county government and as a prosecuting


The appointments were effective immediately.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Share This Post